Mar 18, 2010

Johannes Linstead

From being named “Guitarist of the Year”, to winning six “Best Album” awards, to four top-ten Billboard charting albums, to top-ten radio airplay, Johannes Linstead has become recognized internationally as one of the best selling guitarist/composers in the Instrumental and World Music genres. in 2010 Johannes signed an "Influential Artist" endorsement agreement with Yamaha Corporation of America, the largest musical instrument manufacturer in the world. On stage and on his recordings, Johannes lets loose a fiesta of Spanish guitar magic!
MISTICO, Johannes' new release, has taken his career to new heights, winning two titles in the ZMR Awards being named "Best World Album" and "Best Instrumental Album - Acoustic" plus ranking in the #1 position on's "World Music" and "Jazz/Blues" charts. The album explores the many nuances of the Spanish guitar. From the traditional to the contemporary, from the passionate to the fiery, this masterpiece is a culmination of all his years as a guitarist. Known equally for his beautiful melodies and for his lightning-fast guitar work, multi-award winning composer Johannes Linstead, joins with musicians from around the world; such as Spain, Cuba, Greece, Iran, and Venezuela to make this album a rare gem amongst the Latin guitar genre. 
Johannes' live performances are nothing short of phenomenal. Bursting with tropical sounds, audiences are moved to dance and clap along to his music. In concert, as on his recordings, Johannes and his group create a festive mood with plenty of lightning fast guitar improvisations and spicy percussion solos alive with the driving beats of bongos, congas, timbale and drumbeat. Lively Latin and Mediterranean rhythms combined with Johannes' technical virtuosity leave audiences breathless.
A hugely talented multi-instrumentalist, Johannes plays; guitar, piano, mandolin, sitar, bouzouki, bass, wood flute and various percussion instruments. On his recordings he is backed by world-class musicians from countries as diverse as Cuba, Columbia, Syria, Greece, Mexico, Russia, Venezuela, the Ukraine and India.